The Planted Tank Forum banner

New 7.9 Gallon Fluval Ebi

3005 13
Hi everyone,

I am really new to the hobby and currently have a 5G Fluval Chi filled with... dare I say it... plastic plants. I've always wanted a planted aquarium but juggling full time work with full time school with full time dog mommy duties just wasn't going to give me the time to invest in a planted tank. So right now, my Fluval Chi is home to a small colony of Opae'Ula shrimp, and they have been doing great for the past nine months I've had them. I never have any water issues as my tank is always clear, and I have not had any losses since the way beginning when I had to quickly learn how to prevent my filter from becoming a death machine.

[I don't know why my camera picks up on the light so much. The water is actually crystal clear in person.]

You can find a log of my shrimp antics on my YouTube channel here:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLwcjNt5bT_T5c2JtNcfERc7-psaftcKnx&feature=c4-feed-u

Before my interest in Opae'Ula, I had looked into keeping Blue Tiger Shrimp because let's admit it: They look AWESOME. However, after doing my research, I decided that a beginner like me should not be attempting such expensive shrimp that require expert care, so I started with Opae'Ula because they are very hardy shrimp, and hardy is ideal for new hobbyists. Over the last nine months, I have grown to love shrimp keeping and feel that it's time to spread my wings and finally give Blue Tiger Shrimp and a planted tank a shot. I'm actually going to start off with a small batch of Red Cherry Shrimp since this will be my first freshwater tank, and once I'm comfortable with that, I will bring in the Blue Tiger Shrimp.