The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody!

So I started this new 60g tank a week ago and the plant results are underwhelming. I'm still a newbie at this, but I set up a 12 and a 10 gallon previously and everything is well, no catastrophes (well, I guess it's time to learn from new mistakes).

See below even Anubias (especially 3rd pic) is not doing too good. Those scratch-like marks on the leaves were not there when I planted it. The Ludwigia is about to become a mess with large dark green areas on the leaves. Wisteria (somewhere in the background) seems to be the most unaffected but I'm worried anyways at this point.

The filter used is an API Rena Filstar M stuffed with whatever comes by default (their activated carbon, etc) plus Zeolite Ammonia remover and Nitra Zorb.

Tank went already through a first phase of getting cloudy, is clearer now. No fish.

Light is 2 x GroBeam Ultima 1500, 8 hours a day.

Gravel is a combination of FloraMax with the new National Geo black gravel Petsmart is caring now, on top. I have a gut feeling I made a mistake here; maybe it has to do with not looking the way I expected it.

There is no CO2, I dose Florish Excel, Florish, Seachem Iron, and for the last days (on a panic) Seachem Potassium and Phosphorus - 'cause I read something somewhere. I know, it sounds very scientific :).
I followed the instructions on the bottles and doing the math for my tank size but this is my weak point since I'm not an expert on dosage yet so I guess somebody's gonna yell at me for going at it rather "let's-see-what-happens". Or is gonna tell me to go and buy _another_ Seachem product (what am I, a chem lab? :icon_bigg). Honestly I was expecting to have more time and observe how the plants are doing and read and react. But not like going obviously bad in a week.

Water parameters: