The Planted Tank Forum banner

New 55 gallon planted setup?

5411 8
Hello all! I am somewhat new to the hobby. I am looking to get a 55 gallon tank that will be planted. What I want is a setup where I could grow just about anything IF I wanted to. I found an aquaticlife T5 HO Dual lamp 108 W light fixture and was wondering if this is adequate for what I am looking for? If not does anyone know of any other great fixtures out there that will suit me well for medium high - high light. I am already looking into c02 and found a place down the road that sells and refills canisters. The only problem is they are on the small side.. 5 LB tanks. My other question is about how long would a 5 LB tank last for a 55 gallon? Also, I noticed a newer product called EXCEL? Does this work well in place of a C02 system? Thanks in advance for your help!
Nick
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies! If I were to go with a 75 gallon planted is there a decent fixture out there? Would 2 of the 108 watt T5HO fixtures be overkill on a 75 gallon? I would imagine I would need something other then 108 fixture as the 75 gallon is a lot wider?

·
Registered
3,202 Posts
Thanks for the replies! If I were to go with a 75 gallon planted is there a decent fixture out there? Would 2 of the 108 watt T5HO fixtures be overkill on a 75 gallon? I would imagine I would need something other then 108 fixture as the 75 gallon is a lot wider?
for 75g go with 3x54w fixture, i think 4x54 will be way too much light to deal with. 2x54w light on 75g should still put you on medium light.

·
Registered
3,412 Posts
for 75g go with 3x54w fixture, i think 4x54 will be way too much light to deal with. 2x54w light on 75g should still put you on medium light.