The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm relatively new to this whole planted tank thing, but I have some experience with aquariums in general. I've been doing a lot of research in the process of preparing to setup my new 55 gallon aquarium. Over the course of that research I've stumbled across Catalina products and recommendations for them as well the PAR system recommended here.

So, at this point, I am bowing to experience and having you all check my research and plan.

My tank is a standard 55 gallon (21" tall) with a planned two inches of sand. I intend for the fixture to sit on the glass, and I'm figuring 20" or so to the substrate floor. Probably will get another inch, but I'm going with the higher value for now.

The fixture I have in mind is this one. That's a Catalina 48in 1 bulb (54 watt) T5 HO aquarium hood and bulb. Using Hoppy's PAR guide and assuming I have the right bulb that puts me at right about 44 micromols of PAR. Just over the line into "medium light."

I'd like to avoid CO2, but I know friends who have had luck with Seachem Excel and root tabbing the root feeders. I'm definitely on board with doing that and dosing the water column if necessary.

The plants I'm planning all fall into the "easy" category. Stuff like Java Fern, Anubias, Java Moss, etc. The most challenging plant I want to try is an amazon sword or two as a show piece. Nothing high light or particularly demanding.

Anyways, thanks in advance guys!

·
Registered
304 Posts
I noticed you said sand. Most of the plants u have there grow on rocks or driftwood. But the sword would be buried.the root tabs would help I guess, but why not put some soil under the sand. I reccomend using some kind of substrate with nutrients. In the future you may want more plants that will need it.

·
Registered
173 Posts