The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This is my first time doing a pressuized CO2 setup and I am having problems attaching the needle valve to the my CO2 regulator.

I purchased a beverage CO2 regulator similar to this found on the beveragefactory website

And I got a Clippard Needle valve.

How in the world can you attach the two. The CO2 regulator has this giant hose barb where the air comes out. I can't seem to remove that thing at all. Is there some kind of adapter that I need to buy?

I can screw the needle valve into the hose barb but it's a loose fit so there is a leak. If I can't get rid of the hose barb, can I just make this connection tighter with either teflon tape or duct tape?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
You don't remove the hose barb, but the whole red handled valve. All regulators have pipe threads for ports, and everything screws into those ports. It just takes a big wrench and a good way to hold onto the regulator.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
You don't remove the hose barb, but the whole red handled valve. All regulators have pipe threads for ports, and everything screws into those ports. It just takes a big wrench and a good way to hold onto the regulator.
Yes, that is what I have been trying to do but have been unsuccessful at removing the entire red handle and hose barb assembly. Any chance, I could just stick the needle valve into the hose barb and seal it up?

·
Registered
904 Posts
Yes, that is what I have been trying to do but have been unsuccessful at removing the entire red handle and hose barb assembly. Any chance, I could just stick the needle valve into the hose barb and seal it up?

No chance of that unless you get the tubing to fit the barb and then make a connector with another barb to screw the needle valve into.