The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to the planted world and have been researching how to get started the right way. I've been seeing where people set their tank up "emersed" for awhile and then fill it up. Is this the "norm" for setting up a planted tank? Is this to allow the plants to take root in the substrate? Should I set up my 10g with eco-complete(mixed with black gravel) and then plant and fill with an inch or two of water for a few days or weeks? I am thinking dwarf baby tears and dwarf hairgrass for my foreground and maybe some anacharis, anubias, and some swords in the bachground with a school of tetras of guppies(1 male 3 females)

Also, what is an average price for driftwood? My LFS sells "spider wood" but its a bit pricey, and do I have to pre-soak or worry about driftwood leaching, does it mess with pH?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Some plants perform well emersed, and some will not. HC (dwarf baby tears), hairgrass, and anubias will all perform well emersed. Swords can grow emersed as well, but the leaves will change shape potentially dramatically. The anacharis can only be grown submersed. The purpose of starting emersed is to allow the plants to spread and root, without having to worry about algae, CO2, or the paintstaking difficulty of planting HC and hairgrass individually underwater. Expect to let these plants grow out for several weeks before filling with water. This is not for the impatient. :)

·
Registered
1,419 Posts
Setting up an emmersed tank is alot of fun and cool to watch as it develops, but is not neccessary. It does help in the battle against algae though, to some extent as the plants are already developed and on their way, as opposed to setting up a new tank with plants and flicking the light on. As for pros/cons of emersed set up, I'll let other answer that part.