The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total Newbie who needs hardy plants.

Can you help me narrow what (and how many of each) will fit in my space constraints?

Side to side tank width = 30 inches
Front to back tank depth = 18 inches
Top to bottom tank height = 24 inches

My water temp will be 66.5ºF and right now I have 1 30inch long dual lamp T5 Aqueon light 18W+18W=36W (like the coralife ones). I also have 1 24 inch T8 20w, (but I don't know if both the T8 and the T5s would be necessary at the same time).

Do any of the following explode in growth under my conditions? Are any more particularly suited to my tank than others? Have I mis-classified any of the following for my tank climate (e.g. have I classified a backgrounder as a foreground, etc.)? Which ones in each category would you skip, and how many of each would you plant?

Foreground:
1. Java Moss (64.4ºF - 86ºF)
2. Dwarf Sag (Sagittaria Subulata) 71.6ºF - 82.4ºF

Mid-Ground:

1. Coffee Anubias (Anubias Barteri Coffeefolia) 69.8 ºF - 86ºF
2. Red Crypt Beckettii (Cryptocoryne beckettii) 68ºF - 86 ºF
3. African Water Fern (Bolbitis heudelotii) 68ºF - 80.6ºF
4. Phillipine Java Fern (Phillipine Microsorum Pteropus) 64.4ºF - 86 ºF
5. Vallisneria Asiatica Biwaensis (Corkscrew Val) 65ºF - 83ºF

Background:

1. Red Rubin Sword (Echinodorus Rubin) 64.4ºF - 86 ºF
2. light green Water Wisteria (Hygrophila Diformis) 75.2ºF - 82.4ºF
3. Rotala (Rotundifolia) 64.4ºF - 82.4ºF
4. Anacharis (Egeria Densa) 50ºF - 82.4ºF

Other specifics about my particular setup:

total tank water volume = 56 gallons
Fish = 2 ryukin/fantail/veiltail-type goldfish
Substrate = 1.5 inches of Flourite + 1.5 inches of sand
Low tech, no CO2
2 HOB filters across the back (one does 200gph and the other does 400gph)

·
Registered
74 Posts
A few thoughts:

Goldfish eat most plants, in my experience. I'd make sure that the fish you intend to keep won't snack on your plants.