The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so i am a complete noob but i have been researching low tech planted tanks for about two weeks now. I still have many questions and i do not know exactly where to start. I was looking into ADA Aquasoil, but i keep seeing information on several things that you could and may need to add below it such as peat and whatnot. What exactly would i need to do to create my own low tech planted tank?

Also, i dont know exactly what to add as fertilizer when the whole tank is actually setup? Will it harm the fish?

Thanks for any help you can give me

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Keep researching for like 5-6 weeks if you have the patience and you should be much more prepared and have many less problems starting up =) You don't really need ferts when starting up for a low tech planted tank. I also wouldn't worry about adding peat or anything unless you want to. A nutrient filled substrate is a good idea though, whether it's ADA aquasoil or not. Just remember that aquasoil leaches ammonia into the water for awhile after you set up, so you don't want fish in there right away. Let the tank cycle itself first. Make sure you know and understand the nitrogen cycle. But more importantly, I advise you to just keep researching and hold off on jumping straight in for as long as you can.

·
Registered
172 Posts
VeeSe is giving you good advice. This forum is a good place to read, read, read. Many things to learn. I wish I had waiting awhile before I jumped in!

I started a low tech natural tank in March with Miracle Grow Organic under very small aquarium gravel. It was a mess with algae for about 3 months. I was about to give up, but I kept it going.

Now it is beautiful and very low maintenance. If I were going to start another tank, I believe I would try the mineralized soil (recipe on this forum, but not sure how to direct you to it).

Good luck with your future tank.

Mary

·
Registered