The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I was going to wait until I got up and running to join a community, but I figured I should share my build plans while I'm still able to return stuff to the store. :biggrin: I am a complete noob to the aquarist world. i did about 10 hours of research this past weekend and decided to start gathering materials for my first aquarium build.

First, my vision: I want to go for a "natural aquarium". A high plant:fish ratio, some trumpet snails, a couple algae eaters. I'm going for fast and easy to grow, low-light plants (wisteria, anubias, valisneria, java fern). I want to cover 75% of my surface area with plants. Have one good sized rock, one good sized piece of driftwood. Try to create a very natural landscape with a lot of consumers.

Secondly, here's my rough plan for execution: I've already purchased...

- 20 gallon high tank
- Hood with a 15watt full spectrum flourescent T8 aqueon bulb.
- Aqueon quiet flow 20 filter.
- 25 lb. bag of dark flourite gravel.
- 25 lb. bag of deep river bed gravel (2-3mm)
- Gravel Vac
- 5 lb. river stone
- fish net
- lcd thermometer sticker

My plan is to get the substrate laid down (Flourite as a base with river bed gravel on top. I was told 50 lbs should cover about 2.5 inches on the floor of a 20g tank) and the tank filled before the end of the week and allow it some time to settle. Go grab plants this weekend and get them planted. I'm going to do a 7 day CO2 release (yeast/sugar water in a soda bottle style) with 12 hours of light/day to try and give the plants a head start on the algae. Then I want to add a few trumpet snails to help with the algae, maybe a couple otocinclus. Then 2 weeks after that, assuming all is going well, get 4-6 of a schooling, non-digging fish to add.

A few questions, the ph of my tap water is 6.8. Do I need to dechlorinize the water for the plants or is that only a concern with fish?