The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have had many aquariums in the past but never tried to do live plants.
After selling my 55 gallon to a buddy at work, as I didn't have to room for it in my house, I loved how he did his.

I sold some stuff and made room. But I am a retired vet and don't make a whole lot of money. So I sold a pistol of mine and some other random stuff and bought a used 70 gallon bow with stand.

Even though the bow held water, the seals were in horrible shape. I resealed it using a method with glass. I got the who tank for $200. Now I will let pictures with captions explain the rest as I am a visual person!

Original Tank purchased for $200
Bump:

Bump: Priming the stand.

Stand Primed

Painting the stand to match entertainment stand.

Stand all done.

Bump: Stripping old seals out.

Cutting glass pieces.

Cleaning cut glass pieces.

Caulked sides of tank.

Glass pieces in with caulk. Adds tons of strength.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Oh wow beautiful tank! I am a huge fan of the bowed fronts, they provide a visual for the tank that i feel is unmatched by any other. Great start so far, completely interested in seeing the progress with your planting. Keep us updated!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh wow beautiful tank! I am a huge fan of the bowed fronts, they provide a visual for the tank that i feel is unmatched by any other. Great start so far, completely interested in seeing the progress with your planting. Keep us updated!

Thank you Goomie
It has actually been up for about 2 months.
But I am trying to start a journal and catch up.
More to come for sure.
I hope I get a lot of constructive Criticism from it as well.

·
Registered
188 Posts