The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I'm new to planted tanks, I did a lot of reading and finally setup my planted tank. but cannot sustain plant growth, not sure if my plants are diseased or nutrient deficiency. noticing this is all my plants in the tank

I'm trying to carpet baby dwarf tears on the forground, have grass on the background ( no fishes added)
Need some help badly...

::: SETUP :::
TANK : 40G Breeder - Aqueon
LIGHT : Odyssea Quad T5 39Wx4 lighting ( running at 7 hours a day )
SUBSTRATE : Flourite Black sand 1 inch ( for 1 inch at the bottom, washed a million times to remove the cloudiness ) Added 10 seachem root tabs across the substrate
SUBSTRATE : On top of Flourite I used Aquasoil and Aquasoil powder to make the landscape ( been reading aquasoil is more nutrient rich than Flourite :)
CO2 : Milwaukee MA957 CO2 Regulator + and diffuser + 10 pound tank
FILTER : Fluval 406 canister starting with 1 compartment foam, 2 compartments of biomax, 1 compartment of Activated carbon as the last one.
Temperature: 26 degree Celsius, 78 degree F

::: PLANTS :::
Eleocharis Acicularis Hairgrass ( background grass)
Hydrocotyle tripartita Pennywort Plant
Baby Drwarf tears HC Cuba - foreground plant... this is dying not sure why.. :confused:

::: FISH :::
None

Any and All improvements welcome.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Are you using any kind of fertilizers?

First thing that came to mind when I saw your plants is "plant melt" perhaps the HC you bought was grown emersed and is having a hard time adapting to submersed. I have seen a few people have this problem in the past.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Your right, i got my 1st set on Ebay and this came in small packs that was emersed.. but I'm having the same problem with another batch i got form LFS that was submersed.