The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

full size images

Picked up a nice package from Foster on here. Ill say these are some of the best packages I have seen. Plants were super healthy even after USPS held the packages for a couple extra days. They were super well insulated, and perfectly moist.

There is some
dwarf hair grass
repens
hydropiper
baby tears
monte carlo
riccia
some other I cant remember (a moss of some sort)
and even a TINY random java fern lol.

Im hoping these take off well in this set up since its my first attempt at a dry start.

I draped some plastic tarp over the tank and have to grab a spray bottle today for misting.

If anyone has any tips they would be greatly appreciated

MY technique (used lightly) was putting a TON of home made ozmo root tabs into the soil and sand, then putting some fertilized water just up to the sand top. I then planted each one accordingly to what seems to work best. Some I broke apart (like the hydro and grass) into small portions and was able to use my tweezers to get into the sand but others like the tears I had to leave in semi larger pieces and simply put my finger into the sand to make a 1/4 to 1/2 in indent. I then placed the tears into the hole. After the placements I used a small plastic cup to lightly pour more water over the plant to help smooth back out the sand to cover the roots nicely.

WISH ME LUCK!

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well its its been a month and honestly Im not super impressed with a dry start. MY tears dont seem to be rooting well at all and some of the plants that didnt make it (not many) melted and just created a nasty dark mess on the sand bottom. Hopefully future growth will cover this.
Im at the point where Im ready to just do a tank swap anyway but Im thinking of this.