The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had so much fun building and learning with my first pond . I started a 2nd pond in the same summer.

I hand dug this hole in the ground approx 2800G plus water fall, total water volume will be 3000G. 6 weeks of digging in the middle of summer. I wont' do that again. I think I will spring for back haul if I ever dig another pond. No more yard left anyway.

Liner is in

full of water

rough in of the water fall about 4' high but I need to lower it, testing water flow. Need to redesign in the spring.

How it looked in the fall with leaf netting.

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I plan on Koi. Not that many, I generally understock tanks and ponds. I plan on getting good quality Koi at about 6". I can get imported from Japan locally or drive to a Breeder in Toronto. I'm no Koi expert but like the look of Koi in a pond.

The pond is almost 5' deep in the middle and most ponds if 30" deep in Canada will allow you to overwinter the fish under the ice.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Looks like you've got a good start, are you planning on doing higher end koi (they can get pretty pricey!)? Or just a nice "natural" pond with koi in it?

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Well, winter's gone, so I started work again.

I'm working on the filter system before I add fish and landscape it, everything in the pics will be hidden eventually but getting the water flow right now is much easier without landscaping in the way. Few pic's of what's been done.

Drained the pond cleaned a bit and refilled it. nice and clear right now, see right to the bottom.