The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running a 39 gal fresh for a few years, and have a 75 gal ready for water.
I’m stalled:
Reading and (over?) thinking.
Started with a kit, hob, and plastic decor,
Now running canister (and another one ready for the 75 too) with a few live plants.
Love the compact, efficient, and simplicity of canisters... but:
Looking to up my game in all areas.
First off, I want auto water changes.
I’m using bucket on the 29, but adding a 75, and with a 45 gal and 50 gallon tank in waiting, I want auto water changes.

considering filtering tap water and running supply & drains (inside walls) to each tank location. With timed solenoids and overflows to perform water change.

but then, I like the idea of a central sump.

if I’m going to open walls and run plumbing; why not run two supplies and two returns to each location?
Then I could use a central sump, in basement, eliminating separate equipment for every tank.
But still have separate water and drain if need to isolate a tank.
Sump provides Central heat, filtering, biological media, water change, CO2, fertilizer, (plant nutrients) and increased water volume for display tanks.
Hang a couple (existing) canisters and hob’s on sump to have biological media and filter to move around at will if need to isolate a tank.

less equipment to run, auto water changes, and ability to add/remove a tank without concern for cycling.

I have 2-canisters and 2-HOB’s but not enamored with HOB or ‘stuff’ in display tank.
I have no CO2 equipment, yet, and am not anxious to buy 4+ CO2 systems.
So the central sump seems appealing.

what am I not considering?

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
A couple of things come to mind.