The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was intrested in breeding some cichlids and i wanted to breed the ones that are mouthbrooders. I am fairly new to it but i do have some experience so i was wondering which cichlid would be a good mouthbrooder to breed.

matt

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Check it

i found this article that gave me this information check it out and see what you think, is it reliable.

Kribs offer the best chance of picking out a pair and breeding them; they're very easy to sex, easy to breed and are excellent parents with fascinating broodcare. The convict is fairly easy to sex and difficult to stop breeding! If you like mouthbrooders, try the Egyptian mouthbrooder, the mozzie or A. burtoni, depending on your tank size. Mozzies and A. burtoni are easy to breed, but there is only a limited market for the young because they are so prolific.

other listed easy to breed mouthbrooders

Egyptian mouthbrooder (Pseudocrenilabrus multicolor)
P. philander
Astatotilapia burtoni
redhumps (Geophagus steindachneri)
Mozambique mouthbrooder or mozzie (O. mossambicus)
Labidochromis caeruleus

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i am leaning more towards this fish
Labidochromis caeruleus

·
Registered
974 Posts
yellow labs are cool...they will need alkaline water for breeding.

fyi, convicts and kribs are egglayers

·
Registered
780 Posts
Actually all cichlids are egglayers, convicts and krib's are substrate and cave spawners, respectively. Most of the cichlids from Lake Malawi are mouthbrooders. L. caeruleus aka yellow lab's are one of the milder species regarding aggression. What size tank do you have for the fish?

·
Registered
974 Posts
yeesh, substrate spawners is what i meant :)
i.e. not mouthbrooders

·
Banned
5,009 Posts

·
Registered
1,507 Posts