The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm studying for the GRE, and I forgot how absolutely boring vocabulary studying was. It was fun when I was doing it for the spelling bees in 5-8th grade, but like...now it's kinda a lot. I've found that I like to "passively study", or in other words, not realize that I'm studying when oops, I'm studying (case in point: Ecology of the Planted Aquarium by Walstad. Had no problem reading it. Then oops, it's basically a textbook). I'm still studying and haven't scheduled a GRE test date, so I'm in no rush for words...yet. But I still feel like studying as much as I can right now, can only help me.

So that being said, what's an interesting word that you've come across lately? What's the story behind it? The definition of the word? Ideally it wouldn't be words like hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia (fear of very long words), or pneumoultramicroscopicsilicovolcaniosis (basically: lung laceration due to inhalation of volcanic or otherwise fine dust), since those words are most likely never going to be on the GRE. But go wild!

Examples of words that I've just come across lately: inchoate (just begun), desultory (lacking a plan), and truculent (aggressive)...mostly from the GRE study book...

·
Registered
575 Posts