The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just started this 9gal fluval flex 7 days ago
What do you think about the growth and health of the plants? I feel as though the monte carlo should have grown more?
Is there anything I can do to slow down the growth of sylvania as it covers the top every 3 days...

Sent from my SM-G998W using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
No Monte Carlo doesn’t grow super fast. Looks really good for 7 days. Mine took a month to fully carpet

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No Monte Carlo doesn’t grow super fast. Looks really good for 7 days. Mine took a month to fully carpet
I have yet to trim can I cut off some tall stems and replant them? Or will they rot I'm new to this plant

·
Registered
53 Posts
I have yet to trim can I cut off some tall stems and replant them? Or will they rot I'm new to this plant

This is a great idea. Definitely do it. Most, if not all, will survive and add to the growth. Regular trimming helps promote the spreading of runners too.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is a great idea. Definitely do it. Most, if not all, will survive and add to the growth. Regular trimming helps promote the spreading of runners too.
Will definitely trim them soon!

·
Registered
61 Posts
Yes, you can do this for sure, great idea and will fill in a lot faster! Just be gentle as you don't want to uproot them, even if you do, don't worry, just trim what you want and replant!

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yes, you can do this for sure, great idea and will fill in a lot faster! Just be gentle as you don't want to uproot them, even if you do, don't worry, just trim what you want and replant!
Will definitely do. I have been trying to get them to pearl... after a water change whey pearl but that's about all I was wondering if I put an air stone in the rear compartment will they pearl more?

·
Registered
61 Posts