The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ,

newbie here,,

Currently in my 22g tank, I have 8 red cherry shrimps and 5 bee shrimps.

I would like to add one more shrimp type and could you please advise what type of shrimps will be Ok to mix with current stock to avoid crossbreeding. (except amino and ghost shrimps,they grow too big)

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
Pretty much all Neocaridinas will interbreed so that crosses off all of those e.g Rilis, Sakura etc.
A lot of other shrimp that are sold are the same species as Bees, like Wine Reds, Black King Kongs, Blue Jellies etc. So those are a no go as well.
By the way what are you water parameters, it's better to match what the Bees want than the RCS, as the RCS are much more adaptable, where as the Bees like a specific water range. Also, if you give us parameters we may be able to suggest shrimp that will fit in your tank.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
53 Posts
That's definitely a first priority - make sure to go get your water test kit. They can be bought for less than $30 and shipped to you in two days with Amazon Prime.

However, your plants look amazing and unless you just setup your aquarium or fish have been dying, I would say that your water parameters are mostly good. The shrimp that you can add depends on whether you care about interbreeding or not. If you don't care about interbreeding (that is if you don't care about selling the fish ever), then you can add pretty much whatever you want (assuming your parameters are correct and you can take care of it).

However, if you do care about it then you have find species of shrimp that match your water parameters and that don't interbreed. Its hard to provide you with examples without specifics on your water parameters.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·