The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Banned
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Still needs alot of work, plants are quiet flimsy looking. Trying to get that hope back corner filled in and very thick. Once my co2 system arrives I will add hc to all open substrate you see in picture. I started to add five drops ammonia today to cycle my tank and so far only dosing Excel, excel iron eod. Anything you guys see that I could improve?? Plant Rectangle Wood Pet supply Terrestrial plant

Sent from my PC36100 usg Tapatalk

·
Shrimpsanity
3,052 Posts
Looks good. What kind of shrimps are you going to put in there?

If you plan on keeping some of the higher grade ones you should keep in mind that rock might or might not raise your GH and KH.

You should also stop dosing the Excel when the shrimps get here.

·
Banned
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No higher grade for new, I'm very new to all this but thanks. Hopefully the rock won't, as other than that I just have some manzanita but not too sure how to place in tank. Are Excel and iron good enough fertz for what I'm trying to achieve? All I know for sure that I will have are crs as I traded them for discus.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
37 Posts
Concerning the rock, IMO unless it's pure limestone or something it probably won't mess with your parameters too much, but better safe than sorry. Although I thought that shrimp and other inverts preferred harder water for their exoskeletons, anyways.

·
Banned
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Nah I'm not sure what it is but not limestone lol. It's such a pain trying to scape this thing. Can't ever get it took look right.

·
Banned
2,214 Posts
You could probably remove a few cups of soil and even out the front substrate line, keeping the slope in the back. UG only needs an inch of substrate in the front tops.

·
Banned
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
From what I see he's planning to plant HC. Not UG. :)