The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used the PPS for making a stock solution Trace elements (microplex) and it said to use 116 grams for a 450ml bottle. That sounds like a lot to me. If that is right how much of it would I does daily. My tanks are what I would consider high tech ie; 4-5wpg light, CO2 @4-6bps and H2O changes every 3 days or so @ about 50-75% at a time. I am very new to dry ferts and creating my own wet stocks. Please help

·
Registered
5,370 Posts
Ditch the PPS system as it is the most complicated in the history of aquatic plant gardening, 116 grams is a lot and sounds crazy to me. I tried PPS and had problems with the ratios but do like some of the observations at the site.

EI is much easier, no scale, no calculator, etc. Miller microplex is a Fe suppliment correct, so it would be used in very small amounts if you had a an Fe deficientcy after using Plantex + CSM.

·
Registered
10,732 Posts
Or is Miller's microplex an earlier version of Plantex + CSM, as a multi micro nutrient fert?
Millers is a completely different trace mix than Plantex. It is a european mix, much more common on the other side of the pond.

It is a MICRO element trace mix. NOt just iron.

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
Ditch the PPS system as it is the most complicated in the history of aquatic plant gardening, 116 grams is a lot and sounds crazy to me. I tried PPS and had problems with the ratios but do like some of the observations at the site.

EI is much easier, no scale, no calculator, etc. Miller microplex is a Fe suppliment correct, so it would be used in very small amounts if you had a an Fe deficientcy after using Plantex + CSM.
After reading it through I found it no more difficult than EI.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
thanks the clc. gave me an origonal dose of 36gr but then when i put iy inj again it gave 116 figure

·
Premium Member
2,556 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,485 Posts