The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I just had a question about a metal Hallide fixture I was hoping someone could help me with.

Are MH fixtures just for saltwater? Or can they be used for freshwater setups as well? The reason I ask is there is one for sale on my local classified website that I am interested in, but I have no experience with MH lighting. Here is a link to the fixture:

coralife metal hallide/PC fixture - Castanet Classifieds

Would this fixture be too much light for a 60G, ~20" deep tank? Also, is it priced fairly? And lastly, if I find out the bulbs need replacing, is it still worth getting, or are the bulbs pricey enough to make it not worthwhile?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
4,221 Posts
It's too much light but you can use it. ADA makes amazing 8000K 150 watt bulbs and there are other good quality 5000-8000K 150 watt bulbs out there. The fishneedit 8000K were very nice colored bulbs for a planted tank and cost $20 each. Just the compact fluorescents might be enough as well. You would need to hang the fixture over the tank and couldn't run the lights for long. It is basically like 2 ADA Grand Solar fixtures. ADA runs mostly the fluorescent and the MH for very short periods of time and they are hung high over the tank.

It would be a case of spend less now and pay more forever as that is a ridiculous amount of wattage for your tank and bulbs are costly. Unless the bulbs can be used for your tank as is I'd price a full set of 4 bulbs and add to the actual purchase price.

·
Premium Member
848 Posts