The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a new tank set up. Do you guys know what is the best online site to order some metal halides bulb for cheap. I have 2 right now but they are 20000 k use for reef. I want to take out that 2 and put in 2 10000k instead. I also want to ask the ballast output is 250 watts, can I put in a 175 or 150 watt bulb and it wont burn out the ballast? Im thinking about running it on the 140 gallon since its a tall tank or I could just run it in the 180 gallon for about 2-3 hours a day plus the tek lights.

Pics are on here
http://s54.photobucket.com/albums/g94/supaflyz/

·
Premium Member
9,417 Posts
Don't know of any sites, but eBay has some cheap bulbs. Not sure about the PAR/spectrum though.

And no, you'll have to use 250W bulbs...is it DE or SE?

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im not really good with these lights terminology. What is DE or Se?

·
Registered
54 Posts
DE refers to double ended, SE to single ended (it's a screw-in like your standard light bulb).
epic is right, ebay has everything for decent price. You can also check various online places- customaquatics.com, bigalsonline.com, marinedepot.com. etc etc the list goes on and on. I personally like mparkis.com because he's local and I can pickup (save on shipping). If you do end up ordering from him, can you tell him Mitch (phishphood) referred you. Let us know what you end up doing.

edit: epic..you beat me as I was typing the last sentence I think.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Oh got it now. I have to take the bulb out tommrow to see if they double or single ended.

·
Registered
54 Posts
If you can see the bulb at all then you really don't have to take it out to check. The DE's run a lot shorter and narrower than the SE's. A typical SE bulb is around 6-8" long or so, few inches diameter, and only one side is stuck into something. HTH

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #8