The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I found a good deal on a regulator but I am unsure of the cga connection. I dont want to wait around too long and have it be bought before I get a chance but I also dont want to waste my money. Its a matheson 9367 rated for corrossive. What are the chances it has a cga 320 and even if it doesnt is it possible to use an adapter. Sorry I have zero experience with regulators. It did say it has 1/4" VCR ports if that helps. As long as it would be adaptable I would buy it

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
Most likely it has VCR connections. What you want is a 1/4 npt port then get the cga320 nipple and nut.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
824 Posts
Generally most people on here that build regulator set-ups say to stay away from VCR regulators. Parts are harder to find. There are plenty of regulators on ebay, I would keep looking. Look for ones that have 1/4" NPT or FPT ports.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Don't buy it unless you really want to deal with VCR connections. Basically you'll need VCR to 1/4 npt adapters for all your ports. You'll definitely need to swap out the cga fitting to cga 320.

I honestly don't know where to buy vcr adapters, that you'd have to ask bettatail or oldpunk. I'm pretty sure your regulator should have one already for the cga inlet since i don't believe they make vcr cga fittings, so really you'd just need 1 vcr adapter.

Bottomline VCR regulators are for people who really like high end fancy stuff and are okay with burning lots of money on them//have access to vcr parts. For all intents and purposes stick with something that has 1/4 npt ports

·
Algae Grower
6,444 Posts