The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,
I've been thinking about completely redoing my 10g. My plan is to place a new piece of wood and tear up the plants and replant them in different areas. I've never done this before so I would love some guidance and have many questions.

First, is this a wise decision to make? Will uprooting the plants and moving the substrate around cause my tank to crash? There's quite a bit of mulm deel in the substrate (inert black sand) and it is easily stirred up.Will I have to cycle the tank again due to all of the uprooting and substrate disturbance?

Second, should I remove all of my fish and inverts (neons, otos, and RCS') before rescaping? I wish to keep them as healthy as possible and am afraid of them becoming ill due to the large amounts of mulm being stirred up into the water column all of a sudden.

Third, will the plants be negatively affected by this? I have two swords whose roots spread across the whole tank and the roots will have to be cut in order to replant the swords. Will this harm them? Also, I fear my crypt parvas will not take being moved too kindly.

All thoughts, advice, and suggestions are welcome!

Please forgive me if I did not post this under the correct category.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I would first try to suck up as much mulm as possible over a period of water changes.

What type of plants? Stems will be easy but heavy root feeders (swords and crypts) can be a bit more difficult.

Do you have root tabs in the substrate?
Osmocote for example can be problematic if disturbed and introduced to the water column.

I have rescape with fish in on my large tanks (240 and 65 gallons) with little issues but I usually set up a temp tank for holding livestock in my small cubes < 10 gallons.

Bump: Just saw you have swords. Try to trim lightly as possible on the roots but you may see some melting. Just remove any leaves that melt and it will recover.

·