The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm brand new to the hobby and have had a VERY low tech 10g set up for two months. I dose No ferts, no CO2, and two aqueon 50/50 10 watt mini CFLs with a "Mr Natural" gravel substrate base. I wanted to see how successful I could be and if the hobby would stick before I invested any real money so all my Plants came from the local (south Carolina mind you) Petsmart. After a misstep with some mondo grass I bought hornwort, Italian Vals, and Red ludwigia. The ludwigia was all green upon purchase but has since but on new growth that is deep red almost purple. Is this an indication that the plant is thriving? Also, once it breached the surface can I clip and replant the red portion in hopes of growing it all solid red? Also, any advice on general tank layout is much appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
I love Ludwiga repens! It's natural for it to turn red when either light is high, or nitrates are low. The plant is healthy regardless of whether it's red or green. Although the new growth looks a bit twisted and stunted on yours. Perhaps a calcium deficiency, but I'm not positive.

Yes, you can trim the tops and replant. I like occasionally pinching off the tiniest topmost leaves. That causes it to branch out right underneath, making it more bushy.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply and the suggestions. I also noticed how curved and withered the new growth appears. I'm almost certain it's due to lack of any type of ferts or "active" substrate. I have a few CRS in there(one is even berried!) so I'm kind of wary of dosing the water column. Any suggestions of something safe that may help? I didn't really expect much growth so I didn't put much thought into growth quality! I want to a achieve a jungle look but a major trim and rescape is just Around the corner.

·
Registered
4,907 Posts