The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I'm rather new to the hobby (and to the forum) but eager to learn a lot and get to it. I am hoping to start a low-tech (no Co2, no ferts, no heater) planted neocardinia nanotank for my 5.5 gallon tank (dimensions: 16"x8"x10"). I plan to have a sponge filter with air pump and a pretty solid nicrew light on board.

I'm wondering, for a tank of my dimensions, what depth of substrate is required? Additionally, what is a preferred substrate? I've been reading about different types of aquasoil, etc... but have also heard from other hobbyists that have offered advice that gravel or sand will do just fine and that other things are overkill for the tank I have in mind. As I'm on a bit of a budget at the moment, I'd love to know what is really necessary.

I appreciate any and all thoughts and suggestions

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
Dirted tanks capped with sand is the cheapest you can do, however, probably the most problematic due to the soil potentially leeching through. I think a 5.5g is fine, I have housed shrimps in 2 and 2.5g before, they're in a 5g now but I'm hoping to upgrade them to a bigger tank because the problem in which I have found, which would probably not pertain to you is, my water parameters out of tap is pretty bad, very high pH, and with me wanting a planted tank, what ends up happening is that my plants don't like it, some do, some don't. Substrates such as Tropica soil, or Statrum will lower the pH, and I find shrimps do better in those substrates. HOWEVER, in the spring-summer months, I have kept shrimps outside, in a 55g, and they do remarkably well. What's my substrate? Eco-Complete, which is inert, dirt at the bottom, and sand. I haven't fed them for months and they've thrived and I had hundreds of babies in a few months. Heavily planted is better, creates a soft filter for the tank.

·
Registered
224 Posts