The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 138 Posts

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
MTS is kicking in, and there's no room in the apartment! Therefore, I'd like to setup a low-tech desktop aquarium. Planned specs so far:

Size
1.5 gallon Mr. Aqua

Equipment
Filter (?)
Finnex StingRAY LED Clip Light
Heater (?)

Substrate
ADA La Plata Sand

Hardscape
Driftwood
Ohko stone

Flora
Fissidens splachnobryoides
Riccardia chamedryfolia (Mini pellia)
Jungermmaia pseudocyclop (rose moss)
Bucephalandra kedagang

===

I'd like to do a DSM for this. I've never done one before, so I'll have to do some research first. The main reason is that I like the look of moss better when it's a DSM. It looks a lot more natural.

[STRIKE]I'd like fissidens, but I have to research which kind has very small fronds.[/STRIKE]

@Ugly Genius helped me narrow this down to Fissidens splachnobryoides. Thanks!

·
Registered
5,738 Posts
I'd advise strongly against a nerite snail in such a small tank-they are major waste producers which will spike ammonia (or nitrate if cycled). Also they do not eat algae wafers and rarely learn to eat blanched veggies. They need a tank large enough to provide a lot of natural algae-your tank size will not sustain a healthy nerite.

If you get a betta you'll need a heater they are tropical fish that do best at 78-82F range. Many betta owners recommend the hydro theo adjustable heater (25 watt will work fine for that size tank). I'd personally not recommend a betta in your tank with your choice of landscaper though as bettas have extremely delicate fins that will rip very easily on the rough/sharp rock!