The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am fortunate enough to be getting a free 125g aquarium through a friend, and yes it still holds water. I currently am running a 65g, medium to high light high tech tank. As well as a high tech nano, 5.5g. It's been a long time since I set up a low tech tank. I started this hobby with a 20 extra tall, T8 lighting no co2 etc. But that was 6-7 years ago. And even at 31 my memory of how I did it is long gone. I think I fall in the category of I know too much.

I have never done a tank this large before. And given that I have a 4 month old this tank must be on the cheap. So I am creating this thread for a) a central location to see large low tech tanks, and b) to try and jump start the memory on the old ways to do things, and c) give everyone a chance to show off what they have going on

So please post pics, specs (filtration, lighting substrate, etc.), fert regiment, flora and fauna. Preferably 75+ gallons

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,417 Posts
Naturally I'm going to suggest that a large tank like that would be an ideal showcase for a low-tech discus display tank.

Here's a couple of set-ups of my 75 gal low-tech discus tanks in which I use 2 AC 110 HOB filters, pool filter sand substrate (with root tab ferts, complemented with occasional dosing of macro & micro liquid ferts), and planted with hardy, easily growing plants that do well in the higher discus temps. Lighting is 2 X 39 watt T5-HO bulbs on for 7 hrs./day.
Plants are various sword varieties (Echinodorus), Anubias, Crypts, Lotuses (Nymphaea), Ludwigia, Hygrophilas, Jumbo Vals, and a couple of other hardy growers:
Besides discus, I have generally kept Cardinal Tetras, Corydoras, Rummy-nose Tetras, Rasboras, and a few others from time to time.

http://s1105.photobucket.com/albums/h357/discuspaul/Sept2011
http://s1105.photobucket.com/albums/h357/discuspaul/3RedSnakeSkins