The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I almost lost all my adults crs shrimp, It all started about two weeks ago.
20g long
Ph 5.8
Kh 1
gH 6
Temperature 74
ammonia 0
nitrite 0
nitrites 0
I have a Purigen reactor.
I have been keeping CRS for the past 2 years with problems and some success.
The tank is 5 months old and everything was perfect at one time I had 16 berried females and still have some babies.
I was able to find brand new unopened unused Akadama Double Red substrate. So I bought two bags small and medium , used about 1.5 gallon of akadama in a bucket with distilled water let it sit for two weeks the water was at about 5 pH so I took ½ gallon and mixed it with 1.5 gallon of distilled water demineralized it and did a water change I heard other breeders doing this to prolong the life of the substrate in the tank. That same week I got 6 Ramshorn snails from a reportable member of TPT.
Since that weekend I have been finding each day 2-3 deadSS-SSS adult shrimp. I went back to my old ways ,did some small water changes 1g every other day but still losing shrimp. I still have some berried shrimp and my TB BBK are looking ok not moving to much but not dying. I don’t think it is any type of bacteria, more stress but I am lost and find what is wrong and how to fix it.
I need help save what is left.

If I lose all the shrimp I will quite the hubby and sell everything I have for shrimp
I am so mad for massing with what worked for me!!!
Please HELP

·
Registered
5,116 Posts
I hear you on the messing with stuff when it worked. I had a good population of many shrimp going, tried new stuff, now I'm back to half starting over again.

I'm not sure what to recommend though as it seems all the params are correct. Just feel your pain on messing when stuff is working.

·
Premium Member
7,997 Posts
Try to increase oxygen in water, it will help some of the shrimp immediately.