The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an open top 29 gallon tall tank; 30" long and the depth from light to substrate will nearly hit 18". My current two T5NO bulbs put out a combined 36w and it's just barely doing the trick on my low light plants. I want much higher output so I can grow just about any plant I like at my LFS.

I've seen the Finnex PAR charts (not for 30" though) and I don't know if a Ray2 would be sufficient. I've seen a chart that shows many plants like a minimum of 100 PAR with 125 often being more ideal. A Ray2 does not put that out approaching the 18" mark. I'm new to planted tanks so I could be misunderstanding the issue. Those plant's suggested PAR values were the values at substrate level, right?

I had planned on dumping my current T5NO setup and just using one Ray2. Is that feasible for my tank and goals? I guess I could get two Ray2 fixtures but since I have no experience with them (and I'd like to spend the coin elsewhere), I was hoping one fixture would do the trick.

TIA.

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
Do you already have a pressurized CO2 setup for your tank? Most likely any plant that needs 100-125 PAR is also going to need very good CO2 and at least weekly if not daily fert dosing.

If you don't yet have a pressurized CO2 setup, that would be the better investment BEFORE upgrading your lighting.

Many plants that have the reputation of being "high light" actually will do quite fine in lower light... if they are supplied with good CO2 levels and a balanced fert regimen.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, I do have a pressurized C02 set up going. It's the fert regime that might need some work. I've used root tabs a time or two and I dose Flourish micro and trace as recommended on the bottle.