The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Banned
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just registered to this forum but I have explored all the corners of this sites ever since I set up my tank. This is my first time having a fish tank, so bare with my noob questions lol. I'm gonna give a quick overview of my tank and specs and anything more be free to ask.
-The current problems
Twisting new leaves
-Very slow growth the deeper down in the down ( I have some ludwigia that are baby stems and have grown about an inch or 2 in 2 months) same for any plant near the -substrate.
-Some melting leaves from tips
-Brown veins
-Some transparent
I thought this was all a light problem because I have plenty of nutrients in the water column and substrate so here Comes the possible solutions. I had a 48 inch single t8 bulb fixture laying around so I got a bulb from Home Depot which says says LED at 4800k like 30 watts. It gave off a very warm color and ran this with my other LEDs together for about a 10 hour photo period. After 4 days I had a massive outbreak of Brown algae. My question is pretty much what to do. I have had the t8 bulb off to slow down the diatoms but the plants aren't thriving. This brings me to my next solution which was injecting co2

I'm trying to set up a successful planted. I know it sounds like I'm trying to go high tech because it started out as a low tech tank but I want better growth even if it means new lights or dosing excel which I have no experience with.

--SPECS
75 gallon long tank
-Substrate a bottom layer of about 80lbs of eco complete and top layer of 75 lbs black diamond blasting sand.
-Dosing
I dose api root tabs with diy osmocote plus root tabs
I also dose api liquid fertilizer weekly
-Co2
A couple days ago I started a diy co2 for the first time at 1 bubble per second to introduce it to the tank, ph is still at 7.5 so it hasn't kicked in. I run the co2 directly into the filter in take to diffuse the co2.
-Lighting