The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to planted tanks, but have had fish only tanks for over 20 years. I currently have a standard 55 gallon moderately heavily planted tank. I'm running a Finnex Planted+ light 6 hours a day, dosing with Excel daily along with macro and micro nutrients. My water straight out of the tap has a pH of 8.2, KH 10, GH10 and these are also the parameters in my tank. I have a few large pieces of Manzanita, but the pH never really changed with their addition. Substrate is a mix of plain aquarium gravel and fluorite. Plants are a large Ozelot sword, vallisineria, anubias, java fern, java moss, crypts, dwarf sagittaria, and Bacopa. The plants are growing well and I'm happy with the tank except for the fact that I can't seem to run the lights any longer than 6 hours a day (3 hours on, 4 off, 3 on). Any longer and algae starts to grow everywhere. I'm thinking of investing in a CO2 setup so I can run the lights longer and actually have more time to enjoy the tank. What do you think of this plan?:fish:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm currently dosing all Seachem products. I dose comprehensive once weekly, nitrogen and potassium twice weekly, phosphorus once weekly. I also have root tabs under the sword, crypts, sag and vals. I perform a 30% water change weekly. Ammonia and nitrites are 0 and nitrates test at 5-10. Phosphates are 1ppm using API tests. I addition to the plants the tank is stocked with praecox rainbows, pristella tetras, danios, cories, otos, nerite snails and the red cherry shrimp are multiplying daily. If I add CO2 I will likely change to dry ferts using the EI method once the Seachem products are used up. Filtration is via a Fluval 306 canister and C4 HOB. I don't use any charcoal, instead I have replaced it with more bio media.