The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob when it comes to lighting..... I want to get something that will allow me to grow easy-medium plants. I will likely be running co2.

My rimless tank size is:

900mm long X 500mm X 500mm
which equates to roughly ~35.5" long X 19.5" X 19.5"

I was looking at the Fluval 3.0, however was hoping I could get a few recommendations to look into from this group. Nice to have's would be: built in timer, and aesthetically pleasing. I am not able to hang anything from the ceiling.

Thanks!

Foz

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
You'll probably get as many different suggestions as you do people responding to this... That said, I like twinstar lights.

Spectrum is not adjustable, but it's really good out of the box. No built in dimmer/timer, but you can get a programmable one that goes between the power supply and the light for like $25 US. Pretty sleek look too.

The S series is their most powerful, but that might be overkill for you. The 900E or 900EA (fixed and adjustable height models, respectively) might be right though.

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
If looking for a lightbar that has a built in app controls then fluval is an easy goto for low light plants on a 19 inch deep tank. Maybe as high as the lower end of medium.

Chihiros WRGB is a brighter option with similar controls for around the same money, but you will probably have to order it from china and get it shipped in, so it will take a few weeks to get it (not sure if there is a distributor in Canada, we just got a distributor in the USA).

Other options that are more expensive include 2 AI Prime lights or 2 Kessil lights.