The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Planted Tank People!

I am FINALLY getting around to setting up my 40B, but now the Coralife Light Fixture I bought for it a few years ago is needing bulbs and I can't ever find them ANY WHERE!!! It takes T5 NORMAL OUTPUT bulbs(36"), and I have been looking for a Coralife 6,500K and a ColorMax!And I can't find them ANYWHERE TOGETHER!!!So I guess they are going to phase out N.O. T5 bulbs??? It sure seems that way, because I have a Big Al's Master Catalog from 2014 and there are as many NO T5's compared to HOs

So I am Going to have my Alvarezi Sword tails in there, and I know I want to include Green Cobomba included in the scape, and I want it to be Low Tech, and Low Maintenance. So after doing a search of this section I found where Hoppy advised 3-36" Floro. Lights would be a great for the 40B, and I would think 3 or 4 36" T8s would be Awesome, and you could mix and match your bulb combos to make the plants and fish colors really POP too! :wink2: Also T8s are run on sale most of the time so they can be had somewhat inexpensively, but now I am having trouble finding the dang 36" Shoplight fixtures to light the darn things!!!

I am electronics savvy, so I can run a DIY setup with a few balasts and a few good reflectors, and I could be in business. :grin2: I DO NOT have a surplus of cash for this unexpected problem with finding T5 NO bulbs!

Thanks for ANY AND ALL Help any one can Providing!!!
Take Care!!!
Drew

·
Registered
13,081 Posts
First, most of the time you can run t5HO on t5NO ballasts.. sooo if you can find HO's at 36" you are set..

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OH, I DID NOT KNOW THAT!!!