The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new to planted tanks, and want to care for my plants so they are healthy and lush. I want to do this low tech.

I setup my 90 gallon this last March, once cycled I added fish slowly until I had my full stock. I then got a bunch of plants,which were doing great.

My lighting consisted of 4 40 watt 6500K daylight flourescents. I just replaced 2 bulbs with 2 reef sun bulbs to try and help with more light as I think that is what the issue is??

I first added....

2 Portions Crypt. balansae
Hygro. corymbosa 'angustifolia'
Echinodorus angustifolia 'vesuvius'
E. tennellus 'micro'
2 Val. nana
3 Amazon swords

Everything was doing great. The Balansae portions were growing, and a new plant even started to grow a few inches away from the others in the past few weeks.
The Vals started to get new growth at the top and bottom.
Then they all seemed to stop growing, and the leaves started to not look so green on the val Nana's. The leaves kinda look washed out. There is a very small amout of algae on the outside edges of the leaves. I am seeing 3 or 4 leaves a day floating around from them.

The swords didnt grow at all, their leaves are turning yellowish but still have some green pigment. It seems things stopped growing once the 3 swords were added a few months ago.

I added 3 large Anubias to the tank a few days ago. I only started to add Flourish this week.

My lighting question is this.... I have 1 24 Watt Power compact over my 12 gallon, no ferts, or C02 I have 2 swords and after a weeks time they have sprouted 5 or 6 leaves each.