The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I posted a longer version of this on the general forum but realized that the actual lighting board might be more appropriate--hope cross-posting is ok. I'm a newbie and have been doing a ton of lurking/researching for months but can't quite find the answer to my current issue.

Basically I have a 29 gallon tank, which is 18 inches high (2-3 inches of which is taken up by substrate). I bought a Finnex Stingray because I want to go low-tech but after 3 weeks with plants in, I'm seeing a lot of melt (and some growth, to be fair). My question is, is the Stingray enough light? From what I have read it almost seems like the Stingray is too weak at this depth and Planted + would be too high (unless dosing CO2). I was thinking maybe the original FugeRay would be a good compromise?

I'm really curious to hear from other people who have a tank of this depth, and are trying to go low-tech...what do you use?

I've attached some pics...I have gotten a few inches of growth on the wisteria but it's still growing in the slightly lobed, emersed version. A couple of new leaves on the java fern. Nothing on the sword. Crypt spiralis melted a lot but I see new shoots and runners coming up too.

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have!

H.

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
Well, I don't know enough about that light, but here is what I am doing in a 29G tank - an old fashioned aqueon tank with a fluorescent hood:

- Main hood: Hagen Flora-Glo, 20W, 2,800K, 650 Lumen
- Additional: Marineland Hidden LED 21", 6,500K (72x .06W white LEDs, and 16x .06W 460 nm blue LEDs), PAR/Lux at 12" 25/1121, and at 24" 11/377
- Spot light, Deep Blue Solarflare 3W Micro LED 6,700K

And now I'm about to experiment with replacing the Flora-Glo with a Life-Glo that puts our 1,470 lumen and 6,700K. I suspect my plants will do even better with that. Here's the plants:

Amazon Swords
Marimo Balls