The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I have some experience with lighting and planted tanks, but this weekend I'm getting a 500 gallon aquarium which will be 4.5 feet high, 6 feet wide and 2.5 feet deep aquarium.

It will be a tank that I actually have to climb inside if I want to do anything to it. I know my only option is pretty much Metal Halide. It is freshwater, what are my best options in my Metal Halide?

What do you guys think the min wattage/recommended wattage needs to be and spectrum? Brand? Any and all info is greatly appreciated, especially if you've had experience.

Big thanks!

·
Registered
9,600 Posts
That's a big tank.

And it is a truly deep tank. You might start off with 3x400 watt lights. Make sure you get fixtures with good reflectors because you will need them.

·
Registered
596 Posts
I think this is the first post I've seen by Rex where he isn't pissed off because someone thinks their tank is too deep for Power Compacts and good reflectors...good job and good luck!

Brian

·
Registered
262 Posts
You will at least need the 400W if they are that deep, I'm not sure if you need 2 or 3 though, I think 2 would give you enough coverage but maybe not enough lights for demanding plants...what kind of plants are you thinking of growing? And i think the 10000k bulbs look nice :) just don't get anything below 6500k or over 14000k and it'll do fine

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
I believe Rex (and others) gets excited about people insisting a one-size-fits-all approach is the only way. Here he is saying "use the best tool for the job" which is MH as suggested by the OP etc. I hear that these tanks a a pain to prune. Either hold someone by the feet or switch over to ferns.

I think this is the first post I've seen by Rex where he isn't ticked off because someone thinks their tank is too deep for Power Compacts and good reflectors...good job and good luck!
Brian

·
Registered
2,783 Posts