The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to the planted tank game, I've been running an sps reef for the past 7-8 years. I'm getting started with a standard 120 4x2x2. Right now I have a 2x54 watt t5 fixture above it. Will this be enough light for a moderately planted tank? I'm not looking for crazy growth and I'm not planning on running c02. I just want to be able to keep most plant species. I have a second 2x54 watt fixture if necessary.

Thanks for any advice.

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
Welcome to TPT!

Yes, I think it should work just fine. I run the same lighting over my own 90gal w/out CO2, I just have to watch the photoperiod (I'm down to around 6 hrs/day) to keep algae in check.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. It definitely looks nicer with the additional 2x54 on there. Maybe I could run one fixture for like 6 hours and overlap the second one for a few hours during that period?

·
Registered
198 Posts
This question looks kind of familiar doesnt it Laura. I am setting up the same tank and it looks like I will be running 2x54 T-5's or 4x55 PC's

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
LOL yep.

I guarantee you if you run all 4 bulbs for any length of time together you'll have algae issues w/out CO2. I'm positive b/c any time I've forgotten to turn off my own 2nd bank of bulbs after a photo session, I've had to do a blackout for a few days to get algae back in check...

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
so am i right in saying more light you use the more co2 you have to use
To a point, yes, but eventually you hit a point where the co2 levels would kill your fish, and any lighting above that will only give you algae issues.

2x54w is a great low light setup for a 120g tank with no co2. Like Lauralee said, you've got to watch your photoperiod.