The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am experienced saltwater aquarist but I have limited planted tank experience and no nano experience. I currently have an old 36 gallon bowfront with crypts, anubias nana, java fern and java moss under a Beamswork light. That's the limit of my planted tank experience.

I am getting out of the saltwater hobby but bought the Waterbox Cube 10 for my home office as a planted tank. I am used to spending a ton of money on reef lighting, but want to stay under $150 for this planted tank. It will be low tech for now, but I want to have a light with adjustability for a possible switch to high tech in the future. I also has to look decent since it will be on my desk I use when I work from home. Here are the lights I have considered and my concerns for each light.

Fluval Plant Nano 3.0 - I like the look and features but I don't know if it would be enough light for high tech in the future.

ONF Flat Nano+ - I also like the look and features, but ONF recommends it for a 2 to 9 gallon tank and I am concerned about coverage on a cube.

Twinstar 300EA - I can live with the look but there is no dimming option. It might be too much light for low tech.

Does anyone have advice for lighting a tank with these dimensions? Should I splurge for the AI Prime 16? Is there a better light I am not considering? Thanks in advance for the advice.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
After doing some additional research I realized I must have been looking at the specs for the Twinstar 450 EA when I thought the 300 EA might be too much light. There is also an inline dimmer that can be purchased for the lights. I think I am going to go with the Twinstar 300 EA and buy the dimmer as well.

·
Registered
12,220 Posts
Ai prime freshwater..breaks the budget but fits the bill.

E series has fixed legs so only fits select tanks afaict.

Guess ea is adj. Annoying system.