The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The main reason I'm having trouble is because I'm still new to planted tanks. Quick sum up - my goal is a medium light, planted accordingly. Right now I have some anubias, sword, water sprite, micro sword, dwarf sag, crypt, etc. It's a 38 gal so it's kinda tall- 19". Substrate is 2 -2.5 in front, 3-4" in back. No real plans on doing co2. I do have some flourish and excel.
Right now it's low light. Plants are ok.
So for lighting. I think it's the odyssea t5 with 2× 39w 6700. I like this because of the price. The finnex planted+ or there's the Current USA Satellite Freshwater Aquarium LED Plus.
Looking for some advice.

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
Consider light to be the gas pedal, and CO2 + ferts are the gas that drive plant growth.

If you put 2 T5HO bulbs over this tank without running CO2 and dosing a comprehensive fert regimen, it'll be like flooring the gas pedal on a car with an empty gas tank. It's not going to go well.

IMO your key choice at this juncture is whether or not you want to run CO2 on this tank. Dosing Excel every day rather than running CO2 is going to get tedious as well as pricey fairly quickly.

·
Registered
5,934 Posts
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=184368
They are both on this link. A PAR chart and a list of light levels and what goes/w them.
Up to a point, I agree/w laurel about that light pushing your tank into the need for
CO2. But it's(the Odyssa) barely into that level. Simply saying it is easier to cut rather than raise light. Suspending it from the ceiling to raise it 3/6/9 inches is far cheaper than buying yet another light fixture. And yes doing Excel in that tank would get expensive after a while. I have that light in a 10g and hair algae even/w Excel as
this is obvious overkill on the light but intentionally so by design in my tank.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·