The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9,600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well my multi year usage of NSAIDs has come to an end. It seems that I have either developed an ulcer or very close to it. The pain in my gut right now feels like a red hot blow torch. Needless to say I might be a bit grumpy the next few days. :angryfire

·
Registered
3,254 Posts
Well my multi year usage of NSAIDs has come to an end. It seems that I have either developed an ulcer or very close to it. The pain in my gut right now feels like a red hot blow torch. Needless to say I might be a bit grumpy the next few days. :angryfire
OK Rex....I will ask a series of questions <BTW nice chatting with you the other day>
Anyway...I am a doctor so don't think I am being nosy...
1. Blood in your stool? If so, bright red Mfrank blood> ir dark/tarry
2. OTC Prilosec <omeprazole> you can get the cheap CVS generic knockoff....works as well. Get on the stuff for a total of 3 weeks...then report back>
3. Pepto Bismol.....is a hoax otherwise...doesn't do chit, but Bismuth has quite a positive effect on combatting H. Pylori which has a habit of infesting viscera comprimization....so Use it and learn to love the flavor and color over the next 3 weeks>
4. Let me know how this progresses. You can use tylenol in place of the NSAID's for now, it will not have an adverse effect on stomach, but will help a little on the inflammation in your back. 1000mg q 4-6 hours.

·
Registered
9,600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
1. No blood in the stool.

2. I'm at 40mg twice a day.

3. I've already been taking 3000mg of Tylenol a day.

4. Tested negative for H. Pylori.

5. I will be going in for a look at the stomach next week. Just sitting here waiting for a phone call.