The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Probably a dumb question but I'm a newbie so please bear with me: I want to put my new 7g tank in my bedroom but it has no lid so I am guessing evaporation will be greater than in a tank with a lid(I opted for lidless because I love the look so much more). Is it harmful/dangerous to have it in the bedroom? Could I get sick from breathing in that evaporated tank water? Can I prevent mold by just opening the window every day for a certain amount of time(which I already do anyways so it wouldn't be a hassle). Should I just order a glass lid?

·
Registered
75 Posts
You'll be fine, as long as fish don't jump on you at night :) But water evaporation rate in such small tank could be an issue if you leave the tank unattended for longer time. Rimless/lidless tanks look best with water level all the way to the top.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
The surface area of a 7 gallon is almost nothing.
Unless you were trying to keep it really hot (over 80*F) the amount of evaporation is not going to be enough to grow mold.
There is more humidity when it is raining than that small a tank would create.
I do not know of any diseases you might get, or toxins in a well maintained tank that could cause problems from the evaporation.

There are several possible bacteria found in fish (mostly it seems to be wild-caught fish) that can infect people, but most diseases need direct contact with the disease organism, via an open wound. For example, actually handling the fish, or immersing your hands or arms in the water when you have an open wound.

IACUC

A lot of people have aquariums in their home including the bedroom, and whether the aquarium is closed or not, a certain amount of the water is evaporating all the time. I do not know if it is possible to trace any particular person's disease to their aquarium, but I do not think it happens very often.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·