The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've gotten rid of my java moss, sort of. Fragments kept floating around and establishing themselves in unwanted places.

Made a heck of a mess of my glosso. But the final straw is that it started growing out of my biggest marimo ball. I've been pulling it out as it appears for two months now.

Are there any better-behaved mosses? Or are they all like this?

·
Registered
745 Posts
i cant tell the difference between the two mosses so it would be the same situation

tho I think all mosses would be like that if you trim them in tank with alotta water and dont remove the tidbits immediately

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
I don't think you can ever get rid of a moss once it's established in the tank, I have pieces everywhere of java moss and flame moss. It only takes a tiny segment to break off/miss while you trim and it'll start growing again. The only way that would "help" that I could think of would too have it on an individual item that can be easily taken out and trim it outside of the tank. When I rescaped my tank and everything was out it was funny too see how much java moss I had growing everywhere on the gravel, not including the moss that was tangled in with my plants. It use to bug me, but now I kinda just deal with it. I'll pull out large clumps that are visible, but even when the tank empty of plants it got tedious trying to pull out each little strand of java moss. Maybe somebody will give their secret too keeping moss in one specific area, but it's kind of something I've just grown too accept. Especially when plants are dense and with a carpet it's nearly impossible to pull out each individual strand that's not on the driftwood.