The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm sorry to ask this because I know it's been covered a thousand times, but I still can't make an educated decision (!!!). I just bought a 36 gallon bowfront and want to grow high light plants without co2 (later on down the road I'll try co2, but right now it's seems a little complicated for me since I'm new to plants). I've read all the articles, and still don't know what kind of lighting I should go with. Will LED grow high light plants? Currently, I have a T5 Odyssea on my 10 gallon and it's doing it's job, but I don't like the way it attaches to the tank with the bulky plastic screw on brackets, I want something that just sits on top of the tank.

What do you guys recommend???

Thank you in advance for your help and thank you to whoever runs this sight, it's been a great help to me!

Christy

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
I think the big advantage to leds is they are dimable. Yes they can grow high light plants.
With no co2 get one you can dim. On my 10 gallon i have a current sat plus. Its dimmed just a little and i dont use co2. If you want high light you will need co2 and use a different fixture.

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
Those plant's that require more light, or are said to be high light plant's ,will also need more in the way of CO2 or liquid carbon such as product Excel which need's to be used daily.
Will possibly also need more in the way of nutrient's, depending on the light energy being directed at them.
Truly ,it is the light energy that drives the demand for that which plant's need along with temperature of the environment.

·
Registered
918 Posts