The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was going to cut down some of my bigger plants and was wondering if I could leave some of the roots in the substrate after I cut the plant from them. I am trying to avoid a serious dust storm/ tank crash by bringing up unwanted stuff from the soil. Will the dead rotting roots create a problem? Should I just pull up all the roots? I would rather not... I am new to this stuff so any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The substrate is eco-complete. The roots are really large and its only a 15 gallon aquarium so I am worried about creating a sand storm or mini cycle.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I appreciate your input but why is this the case? Do you have any experience with this? Why would leaving them in be harmful?

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
I usually try to pull out the big roots, but I never sweat it if I miss a lot of them. As far as I know that has never caused me a problem. No matter what you do, big vigorous rooted plants will leave behind a lot of roots. Crypts, for example can cover the whole bottom of the substrate with roots, as can big sword plants.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you Hoppy. I appreciate your help. Actual experience in answering a question is always a big help. I'm still very new to planted aquariums. I kept a 10 gallon as a kid for years but it had neon blue gravel and plastic plants so I am still learning.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
No, I don't have any experience in purposely leaving plant material to decompose in an anaerobic environment.
I'm sorry but your post comes off as a little arrogant. I was simply asking a question. If you don't have any experience, then why post your opinion? Were all here to learn.

·
Banned
1,241 Posts