The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to planting aquarium. Have a dirt 10 gallon (eco-complete, miracle gro, clay) no fish. Finnex stingray for lighting. In the first week have seen white roots from stem and new leaves...I dose excel every day. The only mistake i did was cleaning the aqua clear 20 hob(a 1 year old seeded one) sponge in the tank which was crystal clear, which made the water cloudy which did not settle even after 24 hours. So did a 90% water change to clean the gravel..and now the repens root turned black and started lossing leaves...any idea what went wrong?

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
Well ,I think it possible that when soil is capped with another medium, that root's sometimes have trouble reaching the dirt before they begin to struggle from lack of available nutrient's.
I like to place the soil in the tank,get it fairly wet,then stick the plant's in the dirt and gently/tediously,, fill around them with the cap whatever it might be.
Is a pain when the tank is heavily planted.
ECO complete is said to have good cation exchange capability (CEC) ,but maybe lacks nutrient content initially until such time as it soaks some up from underneath, or from that which is added via fish food/ fish waste or nutrient's dosed to the volume of water.
I would not clean gravel too vigorously,might consider adding dry fertilzer's Macro/micro to the water once a week .(aquariumfertilizer.com)
Might also consider running light's at only six hour's total each day for first few month's.
Excel I believe is to be dosed daily and is good source of carbon which plant's need but is not a nutrient per se.
Hope some of this help's.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
If you do a search you will see that this happens with repens. It happened to me and no one can really say why.