The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I am completely new to keeping shrimp (and this website); all of my aquarium experience is with a single beta, who my family managed to keep alive for 3 years before he developed some kind of malignant tumor and eventually died. I now have a marimo ball from that beta's tank, which has lived in an old jam jar with infrequent water changes for several years and is covered in algae. I found some "sea monkey" kits in my basement and had the idea of starting a planted brine shrimp tank in a 5 gallon tank, but can't find any information on keeping brine shrimp for non-feeder purposes beyond the "EcoSphere" (which I don't think is a viable method since the shrimp population dies out after about 5 years, when it should continue to reproduce) and long-term feeder populations in unplanted tanks.
Does anyone have any ideas/tips for keeping a planted tank of just brine shrimp? I'm open to putting other invertebrates in if it would improve the system's health. This setup is also going to be in a student-geared 3-person apartment, so I can't get a huge setup; a phytoplankton culture like Phytoplankton Culture Kit - Nannochloropsis would be feasible if live food beyond what would grow on the plants is necessary.

·
Registered
59 Posts
I've hatched out brine shrimp for feeding to marine fish (trying to get WC dragonettes feeding). Never had any luck raising them to size. The macroalgae you'd have in such a setup is easy to grow, thought.

I had best hatching results with decapsulated eggs.

·
Super Moderator
15,784 Posts
Fairy Shrimp or Triops may be better options for a planted setup, as they're freshwater and have longer lifecycles.