The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I started my first planted 180 in March of this year. For quite a bit of time I studied all what was written on the subject of substrate and fertilization, which I found confusing at best...

And so I decided to use for a substrate, what I perceived to be a simple, nonexpensive and, according to my extensive horticultural experience - logical items for a substrate. This, as I mentioned sometimes before, included cheep, red lava rocks at the bottom, covered with a layer of Turface and topped with a small gravel, sold as filter medium for swimming pools and the likes.

Into such a medium I planted plants mainly from genus Cryptocoryne and Echinodorus. The plants were, for the most part grown emersed and in a little while started to grow well above my curious expectations - and from this point the growth of some of them started to be a problem.

As a first plant, I had to remove the water lily, which proved to be a ...noxious weed, shading everything around it. Then it went Echinodorus 'Marble Queen' and shortly afterwards E. 'Ozelot', both monster plants, definitely too big for my 180.

Yesterday, about a month too late, out it went E. 'Rubin' (pic), which was my darling for a couple of months, until it covered about half of the swimming space for my fish. The leaves are reaching 30" lengts, and there are well in excess of 50 of them - another shading weed!!!

Another candidate for extraction seems to be E. 'Osiris'. And any removal of these plants can be problematic taking under consideration their extensive root system, which in many cases requires cutting with sharp knife aroung pland base as to not cause a total destruction of surrounding plantings.