The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to the planted tank, but I've been stalking it for a while and blame you folks for finally prompting me to go ahead and get a big aquarium. I'm not new to fish-keeping, so when I saw a 75 gallon with all the fixings for $500 from a LFS because they wanted to get rid of all their freshwater equipment, I thought I was set.

The tank is still pretty awesome, but EVERYTHING associated with it reeks, which I didn't notice because most LFSs have a certain aroma but my apartment doesn't. This swampy, pungent smell that's half canal, half outhouse. I'm removing the gravel, and I'm almost ready to write the two Aqueon 55 filters off as a loss because I can't seem to get them clean short of bathing them in bleach. The smell has also soaked into the wooden canopy. Aside from nuking the whole thing from orbit, is there any way to salvage this thing? I've googled all over for smelly tank issues, but the solution is "water change." Given that there's no water in it except for a bit of wet gravel I'm trying to scoop out, I don't think that's going to help....

I'm also a bit worried that, once I clean everything up, this is just how the tank is going to smell. Has anyone had this issue before with second hand aquariums? Is this just how freshwater smells? I'm pretty sure my old 20 gallon wasn't this rank.

Then I have to figure out how to get rid of the 100 some odd pounds of rocks that came with the aquarium.....

·
Registered
21,012 Posts