The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why can't I grow Java fern of any form? O, O, 6
They turn brown on the ends. I would like a plant that grows slow that will stay short and bushy. It can't be Java fern.

A lot of my stem plants grow so fast they are at the top of the tank almost daily. I need something that stays bushy without pruning it to daily

Any idea's?

·
Registered
361 Posts
Anubias might be worth a try. If these plants aren't really root feeders some nutrients in the water stream should also help. Its not clear, are you using EI? If 0,0,6 is the NPK, would you be up for increasing the levels of NO3? I also find that while Java fern will tolerate a pH as high as 8, ferns in general prefer lower pH levels. I confess I am not an expert on raising discus.

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Oops I forgot the PH number it's 6.5
See Sig for fertz. But using EI everything else seens to grow well.
Isn't wendelov a type of Java fern? I will have to look that up.
I have Anubias and they work ok but was trying for a different texture plant

·
Registered
361 Posts
Sorry, I thought you meant no CO2, excel, EI, ect., but then that would mean you also meant no Eheim 2126, 18w UV, ect. and you wouldn't list those unless you had them. :redface:

I am not sure why Java fern wouldn't grow. They do like moving water, but it looks as if you have that covered as well. Take a look at Cryptocoryne, they tend to be slow growing and have similar leaf shape to the java fern. I fear I'm not much help being fairly new to this. I'll keep an eye out for other slow growers. Maybe in the meantime someone that has more experience will step in.